Meet the Members of New Zealand Geographical Society's Council


President - Dr Ann Pomeroy 

Dr. Ann PomeroyCentre for Sustainability (CSAFE), University of Otago

Ann joined CSAFE in late 2010. Her research interests include family farming, rural community resilience, social assessment, social indicators and demography. Ann has represented New Zealand at the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO). She was awarded a New Zealand Suffrage Medal in 1993 for work with rural women.


Past-President - Professor John Overton

John Overton
School of Geography, Environment and Earth Sciences, Victoria University of Wellington

John has a long association with NZGS throught the Canterbury, Massey and Wellington branches. He was recently a co-organiser of NZGS 2008 conference on the theme "Geography Across the Divide: Inequality, Sustainability and Policy". At Massey University he was Director of the School of People Environment and Planning.



Secretary - Dr Maria Borovnik

School of People, Environment and Planning, Massey University

Maria's main research area involves transnationalism and the social strategies of migrants and people living mobile livelihoods, such as seafarers. She is particularly interested in how family connections can be sustained and how people's integration in communities is affected. Recently Maria has focused on the social well being of people in the Pacific, and policies surrounding social welfare.



Treasurer - Dr David Hayward,
David Hayward
School of Environment, University of Auckland

David is Associate Director (Academic) in the School of Environment, University of Auckland and has an overview of undergraduate pathways in the New Zealand university system. He is currently leading a module on the global economy in the Association of American Geographers funded Centre for Global Geographical Education.


Chair, Managing Editor - Associate Professor Etienne Nel,

Department of Geography, Otago University

As Managing Editor, Etienne oversees a team of four editors supporting the New Zealand Geographer, the Society's journal with Wiley-Blackwell. In addition to his role with the New Zealand Geographer he is an Editorial Board member of the Journals: Applied Geography, Local Economy and the Journal of Geography in Higher Education. He currently chairs the International Geographic Union’s Commission on Marginalization, Globalization and Local and Regional Response (C 04-27).


Chair, NZBoGT - Nick Page,

Otumoetai College

Nick is currently Assistant HOD Social Science at Otumoetai College.


Auckland Branch - Nick Lewis, University of Auckland


Waikato Branch - Associate Professor Lex Chalmers, Department of Geography, Tourism and Environmental Planning, Waikato University





Manawatu Branch - Mike Roche, Geography Programme, School of People, Environment and Planning, Massey University


Wellington Branch - Linda Singh, Newlands College, Wellington


Canterbury Branch - David Conradson, Department of Geography, University of Canterbury


Otago Branch - Tony Binns, Department of Geography, University of Otago