Auckland Branch

Welcome to Geography Auckland, the Auckland branch of the New Zealand Geographical Society. On this page you will find

  • contact details for the branch
  • copies of the newsletter containing information about branch activites
  • information about grants available to members of the Auckland branch
  • information about office holders and executive members of the Auckland branch



Branch Officers and Contact Details

President: Graeme Campbell

Vice President: Mary Flaws and June Logie

Branch Chair: Karen Fisher

Branch Secretary: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

C/- School of Environment
The University of Auckland
Private Bag  92019

Professional Geography Liaison: Kiri Le Heron

Treasurer: Tom Baker

Committee Members: Nick Lewis, Jane Foster (AGTA), Richard Le Heron, Daniel Exeter, Ward Friesen, Lyndsay Blue, Erena Le Heron, Lucy Baragwanath, Joe Fagan, Annie Bartos, Regan Soloman, JC Gaillard, Brendon Blue, David Haywards

Honorary Auditor: Nihal Jayawickrama

Branch Representative on NZBoGT: Mary Robinson (St Cuthbert's College)



Innovative Fieldtrip Competition 2013

Congratulations to Mary Robinson (St Cuthbert's College, Auckland). A copy of the judge's comments about the winning fieldtrip can be downloaded here.



Geography Auckland Newsletters


Newsletter May 2017

Newsletter April 2017

Newsletter February 2017



Newsletter April 2016

Newsletter March 2016



Newsletter October 2015

Newsletter September 2015

Newsletter July 2015

Newsletter June 2015

Newsletter May 2015

Newsletter April 2015

Newsletter January 2015


Newsletter November 2014

Newsletter October 2014

Newsletter September 2014

Newsletter August 2014

Newsletter July 2014

Newsletter June 2014

Newsletter May 2014

Newsletter January 2014


Newsletter October 2013

Newsletter June 2013



Geography Auckland Grants

Geography Auckland makes funds available for grants-in-aid to assist members with geographical activities. Grants are currently available in two categories:

  • Student attendance at conferences
  • Annual grants to full members for participation in geographical activity

Applications are considered in February and August of each year. Applicants must be current financial members and have been members of the Society for at least one year prior to application.
For application guidelines and forms, please click here.