

New Zealand Geographical Society Inc. School of People, Environment and Planning Massey University Private Bag11222 PALMERSTON NORTH 4410 Telephone: +64 6 356 9099 Extension 83643 Email: <u>m.borovnik@massey.ac.nz</u> Web site: www.nzgs.co.nz

New Zealand Geographical Society

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2018

University of Waikato Upstairs Lounge, Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts

> Thursday, 4 October 2018 6 – 7.30pm NZGS AGM

MINUTES

Present: Chair: Lynda Johnston (President), Maria Borovnik (Secretary), Gail Adams-Hutcheson (Co-opted Member), Norm Austin, Tony Binns (Tertiary Liaison to NZBoGT), John Campbell, Lex Chalmers (President Waikato Branch), Francis Collins, Roger Fraser, Claire Gibson, Christina Hanna, Brian Kendrick (Waikato Branch Committee), Wendy Larner (President RSNZ), Colin McLeay (Chair Waikato Branch), Lisa Melville, Sandi Ringham, Robyn Longhurst, Michael Roche (IGU Officer), Iain White, Jesse Whitehead.

Welcome to the official business part of the AGM, and confirmation of the Agenda, by NZGS President, Lynda Johnston. Lynda acknowledged the Waikato Branch's 50th Anniversary Celebrations.

Apologies: Richard Bedford, Richard Calderwood, Ian Fuller, Robin Kearns, Erena Le Heron, Nick Lewis (Chair of the Editorial Board), Juliana Mansvelt (Managing Editor), Ralf Ohlemüller, Nick Page (Treasurer NZBoGT), Harvey Perkins (Past President), Ann Pomeroy, Hamish Rennie, Renee Shum, Suzanne Smith, Amanda Thomas (Secretary Wellington Branch), Mike Taylor.

Minutes of the AGM held in Dunedin, 12 October 2017, were accepted and confirmed by the Meeting.

MOTION: To confirm that the minutes are a true and accurate record of the meeting. Maria Borovnik/Tony Binns. <u>Carried</u>.

No Matters arising

President's Report: (A written report had been circulated within the Annual Report).

MOTION from the Chair: To accept the Annual Report. Carried.

President, Lynda Johnston, briefly explained her report. She opened a discussion about the Society's membership situation and asked the meeting to discuss how to attract more members, whether associate membership could be an option, and what persons could be approached as

associate members. The Meeting discussed options and suggested that Members of Parliament, those in the sporting sector, high profile geographers and the media might be suitable. It was also suggested to build membership by working closely with early career researchers.

Secretary's Report: (A written report was circulated within the Annual Report). Secretary, Maria Borovnik, had nothing to add to her report. She thanked President Lynda Johnston and the Executive. She mentioned that her third term as national secretary would be completed by end of 2019, and that a call for a new Secretary would be circulated by end of 2018.

Treasurer's Report: A written report was prepared by Ralf Ohlemüller and David Hayward. The report was circulated in advance (within the Annual Report) and acknowledged by the meeting in absence of the Treasurer. Ralf Ohlemüller who had taken up the Treasurer position on 1 January 2018 thanked David Hayward for compiling the report.

MOTION from the Chair: to accept the accounts. Carried.

MOTION: to accept the Treasurer's report. <u>Tony Binns</u>/Michael Roche. <u>Carried.</u>

Report from the Membership Officer: A written report was circulated in advance (within the Annual Report) and acknowledged by the meeting.

Report from the Managing Editor and Chair of the Editorial Board: A written report was circulated in advance and acknowledged by the meeting.

Report from the Chair of the New Zealand Board of Geography Teachers (NZBoGT): A written report was circulated in advance and acknowledged by the meeting.

MOTION from the Chair: to accept the Reports by President, Secretary, Membership Officer, Managing Editor and Chair of the NZBoGT. <u>Carried</u>.

Early Career Researcher Network (ECRN) Matters: A report on recent activities and decisions was circulated in advance and explained by Gail Adams-Hutcheson. The meeting acknowledged the activities of early career researchers establishing and strengthening their network.

MOTION: to accept the ECRN report. Gail Adams-Hutcheson/Maria Borovnik. Carried.

Research and Study Groups: The Society currently entertains three Research and Study Groups.

- a) The *Mobilities in Geography* Research and Study group activities were explained by Maria Borovnik and Gail Adams-Hutcheson. Both co-convenors had participated in the launch of the Australian Mobilities network (AusMob) 7-8 December 2017. The group had produced two special issues: i) "Mobilities and Transformation" in the *New Zealand Geographer*, 74(2), 2017; guest edited by Maria Borovnik and Gail Adams-Hutcheson. ii) "Mobilities in a Dangerous World" in *Transfers: Interdisciplinary Journal of Mobility Studies*, Vlume 8, issue 3, 2018, (pages 1-116); guest edited by: Gail Adams-Hutcheson, Holly Thorpe, and Catharine Coleborne.
- b) The *Women and Gender Geographies* Research and Study group activities were explained by Lynda Johnston. The group has conducted regular video-conference meetings. They had

a Gender and Geography Annual Symposium on 12 February 2018. They also submitted a paper to Gender, Place and Culture on feminist geography in Aotearoa New Zealand.

c) A possible Rural Geographies Research and Study group is still in process of being established, and Brad Coombes is currently thinking about establishing an Indigenous Geographies Research and Study group.

NZGS/IAG Conference and Presentation of Awards: The President acknowledged Auckland Branch conference organisers of the joint NZGS/IAG conference, 11-14 July 2018 for their excellent work. Lynda acknowledged that this conference was very good for membership building. She explained that there are some conversations about upcoming conferences with possibilities to join with IGU.

The following **NZGS Premier Awards** were presented at the conference dinner on 12 July 2018: <u>Distinguished New Zealand Geographer Award (and Medal)</u>: Professor Michelle Thompson-Fawcett, University of Otago (nominated by Sophie Bond, Claire Freeman, Etienne Nel and Tony Binns, Otago Branch)and Dr Ann Pomeroy (nominated by John Overton, Wellington Branch).

<u>Honorary Geographer Award</u>: Kennedy Warne (nominated by Robin Kearns, Auckland Branch) <u>Distinguished Service Award</u>: Professor Etienne Nel (nominated by Tony Binns and Peter Holland, Otago Branch)

The following **NZGS Presidents Awards** were presented at the conference dinner on 12 July 2018:

<u>Research Collaboration Award</u>: Damian Collins and Robin Kearns (nominated by Richard Le Heron)

Emerging Researcher in Geography (in all educational settings): Dr Tom Baker (nominated by Francis Collins, University of Auckland)

Postgraduate Research Supervision: Associate Professor Sara Kindon (nominated by Amanda Thomas, Victoria University of Wellington)

<u>Best Doctoral Thesis</u>: Dr Jerram Paul Bateman (nominated by Tony Binns, Etienne Nel, Michelle Thompson-Fawcett and Daniel Kingston, University of Otago) and Dr Hayley Sparks (nominated by Francis Collins, Robin Kearns and Paul Kench, University of Auckland)

Confirmation of Officers: Council, 26 May 2016, decided to have the following officers to renew their roles:

- 1. Membership Officer, Karen Fisher, for one more term.
- 2. Trustee, Michael Roche for one more term.
- 3. Co-opted Member Gail Adams-Hutcheson appointed for one more year in her capacity of ECRN support.

All other officers were confirmed by Council.

MOTION from the Chair: to accept the renewals and confirm all officers of the NZGS Executive. <u>Carried.</u>

No Other Business Concluding remarks: President, Lynda Johnston thanked everyone. The meeting closed at 7.20pm.

Maria Borovnik, National Secretary, NZGS, 30 August 2019.